About UsOur LeadershipHarry Le Grande

Harry Le Grande


Harry Le Grande is a nationally recognized leader in Student Affairs with a career in higher education that spans nearly four decades. He is a Vice Chancellor Emeritus of UC Berkeley and most recently served as Vice President for Student Affairs in multiple interim roles within the California State University system, including Interim Vice President for Student Affairs at Sonoma State University, California State University, San Bernardino, and California State University, Fullerton. Le Grande returned to retirement in June 2020 but remains a trusted consultant for leaders nationwide.

Le Grande previously held positions as the inaugural Vice President for Student Experience at the California Institute of the Arts and as Special Assistant to the Vice President of Student Affairs and Enrollment Management at San Francisco State University. Additionally, Le Grande previously served as an appointee of Governor Brown on the California Student Aid Commission, Chair of the Education Funding Model Committee, Chair of the Council of Student Affairs Vice Chancellors, Principal Investigator of the MasterCard Foundation Scholars Program, and Vice President of the National Forum for Black Public Administrators.

Le Grande currently serves on the Boards of the BluPeak Credit Union, UC Irvine Alumni Association, and in 2023 was appointed by Governor Newsom to serve on the Board of Governors for the California Community College system.

Le Grande has been recognized with numerous awards, including the Pillar of the Profession Award from the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators (NASPA), the Berkeley Citation, the highest honor awarded by the UC’s founding campus, the Distinguished Service to the Profession Award, the Scott Goodnight Award for Outstanding Performance as a Dean/VP from NASPA Region VI, the ACUHO-I Parthenon Award, and the James Hurd Award. In 2017, the University of California established the Harry Le Grande Excellence in Mentorship Award recognizing individuals who have demonstrated consistent leadership and a dedication to mentoring African American students, staff, or faculty.